Capitol Starts Releasing 2021 Cash Incentives For Barangay Tanods


The Iloilo Provincial Government has started releasing the cash incentives for barangay tanods as provided under Provincial Ordinance 2020-240, an Ordinance granting Benefits and Incentives to the Members of the Barangay Tanod and providing funds thereof, on Wednesday, August 3, 2022.

Barangay tanods from the First District towns, except San Joaquin, were the first to receive their cash incentives of PhP 1,000 each following a simple program at the Guimbal gymnasium. Barangay tanods from San Joaquin are still in the process of completing their documents.

Vice Gov. Christine Garin, First District Board Member Carmelo Nochete, Guimbal Mayor Janet Garin-Colada, and Provincial Treasurer Jean Maire Umadhay and other local officials graced the distribution of cash incentives for barangay tanods.

Gov. Arthur Defensor, Jr. allotted PhP 15,395,000 for the said cash incentive. 
The list of barangay tanods qualified for cash incentive underwent validation from the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG).

Umadhay said the cash incentives were supposed to be given last December 2021 but was delayed due to certain circumstances.

Each barangay only sent a representative to receive the cash incentive to avoid large crowd gathering.

This is the second time that the barangay tanods received their PhP 1,000 cash incentive from the province since the ordinance was passed in the year 2020.

To recall, Second District Board Member June Mondejar authored the ordinance giving annual cash incentives to the barangay tanods in recognition of their valuable services to the barangays.

Vice Gov. Garin said the amount of PhP 1,000 is too small but it symbolizes the gratefulness of the provincial government to the barangay tanods. “Who knows in the future we can increase the cash incentive as long as the provincial government could afford,” Garin said. 

As of July 30, 2021, a total of 15,395 barangay tanods were included in the masterlist of the DILG. The province of Iloilo has a total of 1,721 barangays. Each barangay has barangay tanods ranging from six to 15 depending on the size and population. 

Barangay tanods only receive allowance from the barangay which is also dependent on the barangay’s budget.

The following is the schedule of distribution in the other districts of the province: 
Aug. 4 (Thursday), 9:00 a.m. - Second District 
• Alimodian, San Miguel and Leon at San Miguel
• Pavia, Sta. Barbara and Zarraga at Sta. Barbara
Aug. 5 (Friday), 9:00 a.m. – 3rd District
• Cabatuan, Maasin, Janiuay, Calinog, and Bingawan at Janiuay
Aug. 9 (Tuesday), 9:00 a.m. – 4th District
• Barotac Nuevo, Anilao, Banate and Dumangas at Anilao
• Dingle, Dueñas, Passi City, San Enrique and Pototan at Passi City
Aug. 10 (Wednesday), 9:00 a.m. – Fifth District
• Barotac Viejo, Concecion, Balasan, Batad, and Carles at Balasan
• San Rafael and Lemery at Lemery