Third District: Eco-Agricultural Destination


The Third Congressional District is among the most rewarding travel destinations in the province of Iloilo. The area in known as the ECO-AGRI DESTINATION of the province made up of the towns of Cabatuan, Maasin, Janiuay, Badiangan, Lambunao, Calinog, Bingawan, Mina and Pototan. The district is the second largest in terms of land area and the most populated in the province.

With well- preserved colonial architecture, dramatic natural landscapes, vibrant indigenous community and with an extraordinary land where endangered fauna and unique flora reign supreme, the area packs its perimeters with more points of interest than its neighboring districts.

Visitors can indulge in a colourful adventure by exploring this territory filled with ecological and agricultural treasures. The area conceals many possibilities of adventures and discoveries and is home to a cordial and indigenous picturesque people with their unique story-telling technique, dance and colourful costumes can already say so much.

There are 20 accommodation establishments in the district offering 134 air-conditioned rooms and 44 fan rooms. The district is the third biggest contributor of tourist arrivals for the province.

To get to the towns of Cabatuan, Janiuay and Lambunao, visitors can take a jeepney or van at Ungka Transport Terminal fronting Christ the King Memorial Park in Barangay Ungka II, Pavia, Iloilo City. For the towns of Maasin, Lambunao and Calinog jeepneys are available the Pavia People’s Terminal in Barangay Ungka II, Pavia, Iloilo.

Municipality Classification Land Area
No. of Barangays Distance from the city
Cabatuan Second 8,248 68 24.2
Mina Fifth 4,335 22 44.0
Pototan First 9,131 50 29.0
Maasin Third 15,658 50 29.5
Janiuay First 17,910 60 29.0
Badiangan Fourth 7,750 31 48.0
Lambunao First 24,692 73 24.6
Calinog First 23,280 59 59.3
Bingawan Fifth 8,500 14 68.0