Iloilo Provincial Government website

Saemaul leaders assist in ‘Bayanihan’ project in Lemery

Create: 09/07/2017 - 14:08

ILOILO – Twelve officials of Saemaul male leader’s association in different provinces and cities in South Korea arrived here on Tuesday to visit and assist the residents of Poblacion South East Zone in Lemery town in their Saemaul-inspired community project dubbed as “Bagong Bayanihan ng Barangay.”

In partnership with Northern Iloilo Polytechnic State College and Philippine Saemaul Undong Center, the project is a recycling center that aims to manage the solid waste from four sitios (sub-villages) and to address the improper waste disposal in every household.

The project also encompasses a scholarship grant and livelihood projects for residents who wanted to earn extra income from tailoring and saleable art crafts from recyclable materials.

According to August Melody Andong of the National Economic and Development Authority-Region 6, the lead-convener of the project, the 12 Korean Saemaul Undong officials pledged to provide $10,000 (P512,600) for the procurement of 12 sewing machines.

But prior to the release of the assistance, the Korean officials have to evaluate the readiness of the community during their two-day (August 22-23, 2017) field visit here.

Hyung Bae Park, the chairman of Gangwon-do Saemaul Male Leader’s Association, said their visit aims to deepen their understanding of the current situation of the communities involved in the project and to strengthen their people-to-people cooperation with Philippines, especially with the Province of Iloilo.

Park also invited Iloilo Governor Arthur Defensor Sr. and at least four Saemaul Undong scholars from Iloilo to witness the Winter Olympics in 2018 in Pyeongchang, a county in Gangwon province in South Korea.

Meanwhile, Defensor, who visited South Korea during an international Saemaul Undong leader’s conference in 2014, committed to extend full support to their community-based project in Lemery, Iloilo.

The other officials who went to Lemery were the following:
Hee Ju Tcha, chairman of Chun Cheon-si Saemaul Male Leader’s Association
Sang Won Pack, Chairman ofWonJu-si Saemaul Male Leader’s Association
Heung Gi Suk, chairman of Gang Neung-si Saemaul Male Leader’s Association
Baek Soo Kim, chairman of Hoengseong-gun Saemaul Male Leader’s Association
Seok Jong Lee, chairman of Yeongwol-gun Saemaul Male Leader’s Association
Cho Bongrae, chairman of Jeongseon-gun Saemaul Male Leader’s Association
Yun Kweon Jeong, chairman of Cheorwon-gun Saemaul Male Leader’s Association
Sye Keun Jang, chairman of Hwacheon Male Leader’s Association
Yeong Taek Kim, chairman of Yanggu-gun Saemaul Male Leader’s Association
Suc Kgyun Lee, chairman of Inje-gun Saemaul Male Leader’s Association
Jung Il Yun, head of Administrative Department of Gangwon-do Saemaul Center